Kurmond Public School

Success Through Endeavour

Telephone02 4573 1648



The first student enrolled at Kurmond Public School on 19th July 1920 and during that month enrolments reached twenty-six.

By 1921, the school was overflowing with enrolments reaching sixty-one students. This was largely due to the growth in population, with the allocation of forty-five Soldier Settlement properties in the area. These were built for soldiers returning from World War 1. 

Mr. Rob Ross was the first Headmaster and teacher appointed. In 1922 a second teacher, Miss Frances Austin, joined him. 

The school was originally named Longleat Public School and remained as such until the beginning of 1926 when requests were made for its name to be changed due to a new Post and Telegraph Office being established in the area known as Kurmond, being midway between Kurrajong and Richmond. 

In 2005, Kurmond Public School celebrated its 85th anniversary and to mark the occasion a book was produced titled “Longleat to Kurmond – Journey of a Soldier Settlement School”. This publication follows the story of our school from its very beginning. Its two hundred pages are packed with many interesting and amusing stories told by past and present teachers, students and parents as well as a vast assortment of wonderful photos from throughout the years. A complete list of all students who have attended the school since its opening is included; there is also a list of all teachers and principals who have been appointed to the school as well as a list of all the executive members of the Kurmond P&C association. 

This publication is available for sale from the school (through Kurmond P&C association) for $33, with all profits from the sale going directly back to the school to assist in the education of our students. If you would like to purchase a copy of “Longleat to Kurmond – Journey of a Soldier Settlement School”, an order form can be obtained from the link below. We are sure that you will have as much fun reading it as we have had in producing it! 

Download the history book new order form (PDF 55.2KB)

Joy Shepherd, Jill Renaud and Bronwyn Ford 

85th Anniversary Book Committee